Where I’m at…and Where I’m Going…

I’m currently making music which is constructed from layers which sometimes hide the other elements of the track; but without all those separate parts, the music wouldn’t sound the same. Y’know what I mean?

I like the occasional lack of restraint and I’m getting a bit sick of trying to create ‘space’ in tracks, when the space often ends up sounding like ‘the boring bit’ of the track (to me). My favourite producers/musicians did this to varying degrees: Martin Hannett (very spacious production, yes, but lots of hidden, imperceptible components); Brian Wilson, Aphex Twin, Phil Spector, The Jesus & Mary Chain, even Squarepusher to some extent. Though I’d never reach their brilliance.

I’m trying to make tunes also, so it’s important that the music holds together despite all the layers and occasional noise. It’s tricky….but I’m discovering that time, reflection, constant listening and tweaking works wonders!!! No rush…

 

 

Leave a Reply

