Stuff, Stuff And Some More Stuff

Image

Well, it’s been a pleasant and productive break from work, this last fortnight. Done some catching up with old buddies, new buddies, family and music. I feel rested but, as usual, am not ready to return to work just yet! There’s no pleasing some people, is there?!

Anyhow, I have released a little mini-album type of affair unto the world. It was intended to be an EP of about 5 or 6 tracks, but quickly developed into a 9-track collection. I also intended it to be a major (for me) album release. However, as it was completed well before I planned and really doesn’t fit in with the rest of my music at the moment, I thought I’d release it as an “aside” or an ‘interim album’, if you will.

Image

So, “Short Circus” was born…..recorded solely on my iPad using Retronyms‘ marvelous Tabletop app. Arturia’s rather brilliant iMini app and Retronyms’/Akai’s iMPC app are also in there, as they can be used as part of Tabletop’s environment, as plug-ins. A truly mobile album; created on the train, while visiting my family, on my bed and at my dining table. The only drawback being the difficulty of playing a touch-screen keyboard…..which I may rectify soon by purchasing this.

Anyway, in a nutshell, the album is a departure for me as it comprises of tracks which are rather similar stylistically…..a re-visitation to my earlier acid and techno-influenced tunes: minimal; very electronic; bouncy.

See what you think…it’s free/pay what you want at Dementio13.com, as usual.

Incidentally, many thanks to Greg Healey (HealeyIsland) and Jim Furey (Solarno) for their advice and feedback.

In other news, I went to watch Matt Stevens play in Cardiff….that was great (and also good to catch-up with him and meet his bass accompanist, Alun Vaughan, over a curry. Music, of course, was the main source of discussion and I think we set the world to rights!)

Also, Churn Milk Joan have released an excellent new album this weekend……free/pwyw and thoroughly recommended.

That’s all that’s fit to print, really.

I started this post with a pretty picture, so here are some more to end…… The Mumbles yesterday, on the first really Spring-y day we’ve had.

ImageImageImageImageImageImage

Fin.

Leave a Reply

