Monday Musing: The Ideology Of The Album

As usual, thought-provoking, relevant and erudite from Oli Arditi.

Oliver Arditi

I’ve been wondering about the way that I choose what music to write about, what the reasons for those choices are, and what the consequences of them might be. I feel I’ve been fairly rigorous in examining the way I think and write about specific pieces of music in detail, and I’ve gone to the effort of engaging with (relatively) current schools of thought in critical theory in order to inform my thinking. But this basic question, related both to my personal tastes and to the utility of my blogging, has remained something of a black box. I decided to have a poke around and see what I could break…

I have certain criteria that a piece of music must meet before I’ll consider reviewing it. There are no particular standards of quality I apply, and I’m willing to write about music in any style, although I have some reservations…

View original post 2,670 more words

Leave a Reply

