A Vat Of Seasonal Cheer

I hope all the Winter festivities are going well for you and you’re fully ensconced in the spirit with family and friends. It’s a time for excess, I guess; it’s a time for making merry with the people you care about and sharing music, art and words. So, I hope that’s all good.

As is the norm, I’ve been reflecting on a few things I’ve done this year musically, etc. The last few months have been busy in an unwanted way and I’m still struggling to balance my work-life (as in “the day job”) with my life as a musician, but I endeavour to try harder in 2015.

There have been a few changes on my music store. The most noticeable being that all my music is now free for the time being. This has been mainly prompted by a change in EU tax law which requires individuals selling digital products in the EU to register for VAT. Independent artists vending through a third-party store are apparently exempt but, in the case of Bandcamp (where my music resides), things are a bit ambiguous at present. To be honest, I earn so little from my music, that I don’t think it’s going to impact on me too much; and, if I’m totally honest, I don’t really understand it all! However, I realise that it will have a massive effect on ‘bigger-selling’ independent artists who rely on this income to survive as musicians, as their ambitions get larger and costs rise. All this, and the extra burden of filling in complicated paperwork, etc.

Anyway, why we all wait for Bandcamp to clarify the situation ( it’s looking increasingly likely that they will establish a system which supports the artist regarding VAT later in the year), I’m taking no chances and have set my phazers to “free”.
So, you can go to Dementio13.com and help yourself. All I ask in return is an email address to pester every 3 months or so with news, etc, and I ask that you share the music on social media with links and embeds.

New music is on the way, but won’t be released until the Bandcamp thing is sorted. It is nowhere near finished anyway!

Anyway, am just touching base, between ingesting lovely food and intoxicating liquor.
I hope you’re having a great time and wish you loads of happiness for 2015.
Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

