News, Interviews and Videoos

Hello again. After a protracted break from posting anything here, I thought it was about time I got the ball rolling again. I’m currently laid-up with knee ligament problems, so I’ve got a bit of time to kill to update you all with some news and stuff.

So, what’s been happening in the gleaming citadel of Dementio Towers?

Over the last few months I’ve released, in a very low-key fashion, two EPs and an album. The EPs, entitled ‘Vkhutemas Vol.1 and Vol.2‘ are collections of new tracks, recorded ‘as live’ on the fly. Sequencers were used of course, but sequences and sounds were manipulated and triggered as improvisations, of sorts. Not that you really needed to know that.

Anyway, the tracks are probably more electronic than previously, so no bass guitar or vocals. Some of the tracks are melodic and ‘progressive’ and a bit soundtracky. There’s also quite a few squelchy syncopated bass-lines on there too; with a nod to some of the old acid-house that I used to play while DJ-ing back in the day (that day being a Tuesday).

In pretty much the same vein, but in a more extended form, there’s also the new album ‘This Is Civilisation‘.

This makes fairly heavy use of my new portable studio set-up powered by some great Elektron gear. Check it.

Music blogger John Lunny contacted me recently asking to do an interview with me. In it I talk about influences and gear (inevitably!). You can read it here, if these things interest you. I’m very grateful to John for taking an interest and his blog is full of useful recommendations of new independent music.

Also, in the coming months, I’ve got new track with Marie Craven appearing on a special compilation, which I’m really pleased about. Looking forward to the release of that.

Marie’s been branching out into making video poems and has been using my music on some, which is cool. She’s taken readings of various poems and created micro-visuals to accompany them. There’s some really good stuff and they’re worth investigating.

Anyway, that’s all for now. Be safe.

Leave a Reply

